Last night while I was falling asleep I saw a navy butterfly, almost fabric-like, with petal-shaped wing tips, moving like a peaceful dance. I haven't thought about blue butterflies in awhile but I was happy it showed up. (I don't think of these images as hyper-spiritual or prophetic, fwiw - everybody has them, they are usually personal and specific to your psyche and process. They come from both inside and outside us.)

Today I found myself in a butterfly room at the Tennessee aquarium in Chattanooga. I promise, I did not know it was coming last night - I'm still not sure what butterflies have to do with aquatic life. So maybe the image was a foreshadowing of my calm, slow-moving day spent surrounded by navy-shadowed water tanks and butterflies - but still not earth shaking.

The room had a window with hundreds of real chrysalises behind it, of at least thirty types of butterflies. I could have stayed there for hours. Two morpho auroras - the glamorous blue Peruvian butterflies - were flitting around with each other, spinning in love. Nate and I, and our friends Jeremy and Eve, were the same way.

I've never been too much of an animal person, but these recent scientific bolsterings of energy and connection opened my heart in a new way today. I put my hand in the stingray tank and thought about sending love to them through it, and I swear they all clustered to come and get it. Most of the animals seemed to be coming towards most of us humans on the other side of the thick glass walls, actually - the penguins, the river otters, the tortoise and sharks all seemed to know we were there, and would pause next to a child, or show off in a specific way. I wonder what our energy looks like to them. I wonder if they see pictures of loving human features flash through their subconscious before they doze off.

It was easier to love the animals than most of the humans around me, and that is a lack in me (though I wasn't beating myself up over it). But then I thought about everyone enjoying the animals just like me, and that helped. A minute later I rounded the corner into a Shakespeare quote: "A touch of nature makes the whole world kin." I got a little choked up. The quote filled the wall under a perfect-circle photo of earth with a silver geometric web stretching out from it over all the visitors. All of us creatures undergoing metamorphosis, so many varieties of cocoons and wings.



Leave a Reply.