Probably due to us planning a wedding ceremony, I've been pretty frustrated with Christianity lately. It is the best of philosophies (love conquers all), it is the worst of philosophies (you're a total piece of shit without God, but He killed his son to fix that, and now you're indebted to Him forever). There are infinite varieties, as infinite as the number of practitioners, but I've had enough experiences with enough varieties to create patterns in my mind that are hard to shake. I'm talking very similar, off-putting behaviors by young and old Christians among parts of mine and all my friends' families - northern, southern, and in-between. I do not blame this behavior on their sinful natures, I blame it on fear, suppressed emotional responses, and the bizarre teachings their cultures extrapolate from a book they all worship and seek answers from, in lieu of a connection to the real God whispering through our hearts, guts, longings, and emotions (whispers that can be illuminated by holy words of Scripture, but also Poetry, or Songs...).

Fear is at the root of what Christians call sin, but they are often so afraid of sinning that they create just as much sin (harming others) through the moralistic judgments and rules they create to anesthetize their anxiety with - rules about politics, behavior, sexuality, food, you name it. I can say this because I WAS this. Christians: as a child of your culture, trust me - the fear of fear creates more fear, in an endless cycle that will end up hurting, exasperating, or completely alienating your children. If you feel estranged from your adult child - do not take the cop out of blaming their "loss of faith" or "where they're stuck in their spiritual journey." Take a look at your fear and the way it drives you, consciously or unconsciously, especially in your relationship with yourself. Intimacy with our loved ones is the reward of self-intimacy; children do not cease to be very perceptive to the energies we give out about ourself and the way we see the world just because they are grown.

It might be some form of evolutionary human nature to create rules out of fear, but it rarely leads to the ends one wishes for. Case in point: I joined the abstinence movement as a teenager. This movement is meant to protect kids from harmful sexual experiences at a young age. I was so afraid of sex that - guess what! - I ended up with a sexually abusive Christian spouse. Too much protection of innocence can lead to easier victimization.(I don't blame my parents for this - they did the best they could with what they had, and their motivations were good.)

I won't be encouraging my kids to live their lives in fear of their bodies, drives, and losing their innocence. We'll figure it out as we go, but I want them to feel brave, strong, able to trust their gut and not just a set of arbitrary rules - and I want them to know they are going to make some mistakes and that I won't guilt them, blame myself, or accuse them of failure when it happens.

I grew up loosely Evangelical, a Christian subgroup which has vast numbers of converts touched by alcoholism in their families one way or another. I wish the correlation could be studied statistically. Evangelical theology is codependency in spiritual form: it is your job to save the person in front of you. If they are an alcoholic, it's your job to love them sober; if they aren't "a believer," it's your job to be Jesus to them and effectively love them away from eternal hell.

Children and grandchildren of alcoholics can spend their whole lives and limited energies on these missions while missing out on all the real reasons we're alive: to receive love as much as we give it, to relish the beauty of each day and ourselves in it, to taste and see that all of this is (or at least can be) so good. I spent my early 20s as a double grandchild of alcoholics (both sides) hugely codependent with my husband's personality issues. I attacked my own emotions as wrong if they contradicted what the Bible seemed to teach me about being loving and endlessly forgiving. I was divorced from my own anger and needs. It took me at least five years to realize my husband's actions were wrong. Yes, I partly blame Christianity for this.

I'm 32 now and still learning how to listen to my emotions and needs. Right now this seems to especially be about facing and being honest about my anger. If you're a relative of an alcoholic, you know this is very par for the course; anger is the ultimate forbidden emotion (never mind if it's the heart's healthy response to a deep wound).

And so, to a huge chunk of Christian thought, I say: Fuck off, and I am so glad to be rid of you. There is a way which seems right to a man, but that path leads to death. If you're one of the empathetic Christians I know and love and you're reading this, I hope you can understand why I need to say it. If you can't - it's not my job to fix that. :-)

Sarah
3/13/2014 07:13:17 am

Couldn't have said it better, sistah!!!

Reply
3/18/2014 11:27:35 am

Thank you Bethany.

Reply
4/4/2014 03:51:29 pm

I'm sure you've thought about this, and I have no information regarding your children's relationship with their dad, but do you really want to say negative things about him on a public forum which your children will one day be able to access? As a child of divorced parents, I would be upset if my mum posted negative things about my dad online, but that's just me.

Reply
Bethany
4/5/2014 01:19:39 am

Hi Althea - telling the truth is different than "saying negative things." When my children are old enough, they will know a tactful version of the whole story, because I do believe the truth sets people free, even if painful sometimes.

Reply
Brittany
4/22/2014 12:06:36 pm

Bethany, I just sent an email to the address you gave me many moons ago... could you let me know if you didn't receive it? Thanks a million!!

Reply
8/24/2014 07:11:44 am

I came on here because I was reflecting today on my sexual hindrances.

Quick background: I grew up reading The Courtship Books, was a homeschooler, and a radical Catholic (my parents were more lax, so that choice was a push-back on my part, to try to be an individual separate from them)... Nowadays, at 26, I'm not religious (though I believe that there is a Love that unites us all, that wholeness is our natural state, that goodness is at the core of humans, and that healing is possible), but I'm wondering why - when so many other transformations have taken my place - my sexuality seems the most sluggish to follow. I kissed someone for the first time last year, at 25. My commitment at age 12 to save my first kiss for marriage lasted a long time, you see! And even when I had intellectually dropped the ideal, it physically lingered. My first kiss ended up being a frustration-driven, kind of humorous, "Can you PLEASE show me how to do this?!" experience. It was sweet. I picked a tender guy to do it with.
But I seem to be doing a four steps forward, three steps back dance. When I think about kissing someone again, some iron hand holds me back. (I grew up being better at stopping myself, at repressing myself, then I was at giving in.) Guilt is tied up in being physical. I worry that if I kiss someone, he's going to expect sex. I'm going to have to "go all the way", even if I'm not fully comfortable with it, because it's "cruel" to arouse a man and then not fulfill what you started.

I was wondering where this guilt originated, and then phrases started popping up in my memory like, "Why preheat the oven when you can't cook the roast?" and "If you truly love that person, is it in their best interests to wet their thirst when you cannot give them the whole glass of water?" I remembered they came from your article, "Don't Kiss Me", and I went online, found it, read it, and was both amused and horrified, even though when I was 12, I was enchanted by the ideas, by the allure of keeping my cistern pure and clean for my husband, letting no other man ever take a sip. For someone who already wanted to be a good person, it was like dangling a gold medal in front of me - "THIS is the highest. This is how you can be pleasing to God."

I realize now how much these ideals of perfection hurt me in the long run (not to mention probably hurting anyone else I carried them to). The intention of the article is beautiful - to live a fairytale-like love with a husband and to have a sense of integrity within oneself - but some of the beliefs (which I swallowed whole) are repulsive - like the idea that women's bodies belong to her husband ("Since I'm not married yet, I am responsible for guarding my husband's 'fountain' (my body, which includes my lips) from strangers"). And the idea of unreality: that you could actually be unfaithful to someone you have never met.

When I was younger, after reading this article, both idealism and fear were ignited in me. I was filled with unreality, with commitment to a man I'd never met - and so I ignored real men in my life. I was consumed with the terror that I could actually be unfaithful to him before marrying him, so I made sure I never touched a guy.

And that's all I learned - never to touch a guy. Even though my brain has come so much farther, my body is so slow to follow. It feels still immured in shame and fear. I don't want to blame myself, so I came on here to blame to you - to tell you that you and your Christianity have hurt me so much.

And what do my eyes first fall on? - "And so, to a huge chunk of Christian thought, I say: Fuck off, and I am so glad to be rid of you." I think I laughed aloud, and I read your whole article with a feeling of relief.

Now I only want to say: I hope to one day reach the point you have seemed to have reached. How brave of you to have to struggle into "full bloom", so publicly. The vindictive part of me jumps up and says you deserve any difficulty from public exposure, because you once put your old absolutist beliefs out there so publicly, declaring authoritatively what was gratifying to a deity. ...But the truth is, if YOU hadn't done that, someone else would have, and given the platform, that person might have even been me - because I was just as idealistic, just as black-and-white. I definitely absorbed your words, and had no problem sharing as a teenager my commitment to not kiss until I was married. Whenever I got backlash or ridicule for that, from parents or relatives, I just squared my head and saw it as another badge of honor for not being "conformed to the world".

I am so sorry you married someone sexually abusive. Given the right circumstances, I could have easily also. Turns out we're in practically the same boat. Right now what I really need to fight is my own inward anxiety and shame; it'd be nice to have an outside target to defeat - to tell you how much you hurt me and hear you say you're sorry and that you take it all back. But it wasn'

Reply
8/24/2014 07:13:11 am

(it cut off)

But it wasn't just you. You were only expressing something that was already in the air sub-culturally; you merely put it into words, and Joshua Harris happened to publish it further. You're not to blame for that. YOU'RE not the source of the body-shaming, desire-shaming, sex-shaming. You yourself were hurt by it. Religious beliefs are the source and patriarchy is the source.

Thank you for sharing so honestly, and for letting your journey be public. You didn't have to do that. But because of that bravery, I think another step forward has been made in my own healing. Keep going, sister. Any freedom we end up achieving internally can help free others.

With love,
Sarah
[email protected]

Reply
11/11/2014 04:47:19 am

Hi!

I hope this doesn't sound creepy, but I want to be your friend! I too was raised in a repressive Evangelical environment and got out. I was reading an article on the Atlantic titled "The Warrior Wives of Evangelical Christianity" and after following a bunch of rabbit trails, I found your blog. I too have a blog which covers similar topics (though in a very different way). Anyway- I hope to hear back from you! If anything, I want you to know you're not alone and that what you have done and are doing is very brave.

Reply
Sarah Bethany
2/17/2015 09:12:00 pm

Thinking of you with love and gratitude right now, for your bravery and beauty. For your ability to grow in front of us all and share who you are. Your healing has generated other's healing!
Much love,
Sarah

Reply
Katie
11/17/2015 02:20:38 pm

Just stumbled across your earlier blog on Eblogger and followed it here. I'm recently out of a very similar situation to those you describe and appreciate your sharing. As this post is two years old or so, I don't even know if you are on here anymore or not. But I feel you are someone I would like to know, someone I could relate to. Thanks for being you.

Reply
6/16/2021 06:26:26 am

"you're a total piece of shit without God, but He killed his son to fix that, and now you're indebted to Him forever"

I don't believe that is true.

I'm curious: at one time you said you were Orthodox. Orthodoxy teaches nothing like that view of God and salvation. Where are you getting that from ?

Reply



Leave a Reply.