Yum.

5/29/2013

1 Comment

 
I bought a homeless man a mocha and muffin at Starbucks and I'm still coasting off of the high it gave me. I did not do this to win points with God. I did not do this because I feel like a worthless sinner who must love in order to make restitution for my wrongs. I did not do this because I am supposed to, or was taught to.

I did it because I had also enjoyed a mocha and muffin myself, and it felt good for my fullness to overflow. I did it because that guy is me and we are both worthy of love and generosity. There was a period when I was recovering from warped Christian teaching where I just needed to treat myself to Starbucks, and that was all I could manage or afford, and it was a necessary season. Now I'm shedding that skin too. Everything is process.

Stephen Colbert interviewed Bill Clinton about his Clinton Global Initiative work, and asked him "Why do you do all of this? You're a retired president, you don't have to do this." Clinton replied, "Because I'm selfish - because it makes me feel really good." That is the truth.

Louise
6/4/2013 09:16:20 pm

Yup one should do what makes one happy!

Reply



Leave a Reply.